Church Organziations
Friday August 12, 2022

The Congregation

Memorial Presbyterian Church is a congregation of Christians, persons who have been Baptized in the Name of the Father, Son, and Holy Spirit, and who confess that Jesus is Lord.

The Church orders its worship and work under the authority of the Bible and in obedience to the Constitution of the Presbyterian Church (USA).

Persons are received into this Church by their response to Christ’s call to discipleship and by the vote of the Session - Pastor and Elders in active service.

According to the Constitution of the Presbyterian Church (G-5:0102): A faithful member accepts Christ’s call to be involved responsibility in the ministry of his church. Such involvement includes:

  • Proclaiming the good news,
  • Taking part in the common life and worship of a particular church,
  • Praying and studying Scripture and the faith of the Christian church,
  • Supporting the work of the Church through the giving of money, time and talents,
  • Participating in the governing responsibilities of the Church,
  • Demonstrating a new quality of life within and through the Church,
  • Living responsibility in the personal, family, vocational, political, cultural, and social relationships of life, and
  • Working members are expected to be regular in attending worship and diligent celebration and parking of the Sacrament of the Lord’s Supper.

Active members are also obligated to pay a Per Capita assessment of $10 for the ecclesiastical work of the Presbytery, Synod and General Assembly.

Presbyterian EldersElders are selected by the Church Nominating Committee and elected by the congregation. Elders serve as the representatives for all the people of the church and meet monthly. They take leadership roles on various commissions or committees and oversee all aspects of the life of the church – from its finances and its facilities to its mission outreach and worship. All members of the Session are entitled to vote on issues presented to them.

The classes of Ruling Elders is shown below.





Presbyterian DeadonsThe role of Deacons, as set forth in Scripture, is one of sympathy, witness, service after the example of Jesus Christ. Persons of spiritual character, honest repute, of exemplary lives, brotherly & sisterly love, warm sympathies, and sound judgment are chosen for this office.

It is the duty of the Deacons, first of all, to minister to those who are in need, to the sick, to the friendless and to anyone who may be in distress both within and beyond the community of faith. They shall assume such other duties as may be delegated to them from time to time by the session, such as leading the people in worship through prayers of intercession, reading the Scriptures, presenting the gifts of the people, and assisting with the Lord’s Supper.

The classes of the Board of Deacons is shown below.

TrusteesThe Board of Trustees has the responsibility for the preservation and maintenance of the material resources of the church so that they may be available for the mission and ministry of the church.

In particular, the trustees are responsible for the land and building and its preservation and repair, the investment of church funds not necessary for immediate use, the insurance of the church assets and operations, the supervision and recommendation for policies for the use of property which the church holds. The trustees meet on a quarterly basis in January, April, July and October.

The classes of the Board of Trustees are shown below.



Church Officers and Trustees

Class of 2014        
Dr Robert Cannon
Dr. Jonathan Edwards
Mr. Norman Mitchell
Mr. Sam Reid
Ms. Tamera Sanders
Mrs. Jessie Spicer
  Mrs. Jeanette Alexander
Mr. Preston Hill
Mr. Willie Hill
Mr. Gerald Hood
Ms. Lucilla Robinson
Mrs. Dorothy Scoggins
  Mr. James Davis
Mr. Willie Elam
Ms. Janina FoxX
Class of 2015        
Mr. State Alexander
Mr. Jack Brayboy
Dr. Bob Graham
Mr. Joseph Green
Mrs. Jocelyn Petty Hood
Dr. Jerry Jones
  Ms. Karen Chisholm
Ms. Shirley Chisholm
Ms. Venita Hood
Ms. Janet Springs
Mrs. Sheila St. Hill
Mrs. Diane Watkins
  Mrs. Myra Crowder
Mrs. Angenette Figueroa
Mr. Ray Merritt
Class of 2016        
Ms. Judith Cowan
Mr. Victor Fields
Ms. Brenda Foster
Mr. Wendell Hill
Mr. Johnny Mills
Mrs. Janyce Wardlaw
  Mrs. Carol Alexander
Mr. Eric Figueroa
Mrs. Lesa Gassaway
Mr. Stephen Pass
Mrs. Penny Reeves
Ms. Sohelia Thorne
  Mr. James Dawn
Mr. Roscoe Hood, Jr.
Mrs. Evelyn Turner

Church Personnel and Information

Pastor   Rev. Edward B Newberry
Clerk of Session   Mrs. Brenda Foster
Chairperson of Trustee Board   Mr. Roscoe Hood, Jr
Moderator of Deacon Board   Mr. Preston Hill
Treasurer   Mr. Howard Counts
Director of Music   Mrs. Jocelyn Thompson
Church Secretary   Mrs. Beverly Palmer
Church Custodian   Mr. John Lumpkin
Christian Education Coordinator   Mrs. Julia Gassaway
Church Office: (704) 392-4752
Church Fax: (704) 399-2162
Church Internet Address
Rev. Edward B. Newberry's Email Address
General Church Email Address





Follow Me on Pinterest
Pins for mpccharlotte